April 9, 2011

  • I do what I want.

    I had grand plans for Saturday. Unfortunately, I got a late start to the day because I took a friend to an airport shuttle at 5am. Needless to say I didn't do a thing before noon. And then barely at that. I headed to the library intent on doing...something. I suppose I should have specified, because the 'somethings' I did were all non-academic related. As soon as I realized it I got frustrated, and I also started getting an attitude because I hadn't eaten at all all day so I packed up and left. With nothing done.

    But it was a beautiful day so I went to a store just to take the drive and bumped music loudly from my open windows smiling as undergrads wandered into the streets. Nice weather makes people mill about like fire flies at night. I got some ice cream. I had grand plans for Saturday. I was going to cook a meal like my granny used to make, I was going to do laundry (and fold them all the same day), I was going to wash my hair and do my nails and sit under a dryer and read articles for a final paper due in about three weeks. Yeah. Instead I tried on a few tiny dresses, some old some new, and wished absently for more opportunity to wear said small dresses somewhere in Bloomington. I danced around to a soca song ("Dance and dingolay") on repeat. Now I intend on watching two movies on my couch, hair unwashed, toes unpainted, articles unread.

    I do what I want.

Comments (2)

  • Do it up.  :)

    ~J

  • OMG I have had you on my list of blogs since undergrad.  I have not been on this thing really since maybe my junior yr of college.  To see that we are both in  the same situations is hilarious.  I am a grad student as well and tonight I am looking up my old journals because I am avoiding a cultural studies text. haha.  

    Anywho that is almost exactly how i spent last weekend.  Not getting around to doing my hair, not re-painting my nails, and watched my so called Life on netflix lmao.  It's just so weird that we're living parallel lives: two women of color trying to make a way for themselves in the world...somehow bypassing and getting stuck in academia.  
    writer to writer,Jen

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment